Best Online Driver’s Ed Courses For Adults 2023 – Automoblog

Here we showcase the latest makes and models, often before they hit the market. We also report on other significant announcements in the automotive industry.
Whether you’re shopping for a new car, looking for the latest products, or wanting something to spruce up the man cave, you’ll find our review of it here.
This is us talking shop and talking cars. Sometimes we go in-depth and analyze something, or we talk about car history or motorsports, or maybe we’re just giving our thoughts on something in the automotive industry.
Affiliate disclosure: Automoblog and its partners may be compensated when you purchase the products below.
Crash Course
We reviewed the industry’s top driver’s education programs, and here are our featured picks.

Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0
On Our Partner’s Website
Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0
On Our Partner’s Website
Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0
On Our Partner’s Website
Ready to get your permit or driver license? New drivers over 18 may be required to complete a driver’s education course to become eligible for a permit or license road test. Below, we cover everything a new adult driver needs to know about driver’s ed for adults, including which states require it and where you can take the best driver’s ed courses online.
Driver’s ed for adults is typically an abbreviated driver education course designed for adults ages 18 and older. These courses cover driver safety, traffic laws, and other need-to-know information through lessons designed for mature learners. 
Licensing laws in each state change frequently. At this time, we found six states that require some form of driver education for new drivers over 18.
Connecticut requires all new drivers seeking a permit to take an eight-hour Safe Driving Practices driving school course.
Drivers ages 18 through 20 who did not complete a high school driver education course must complete an Illinois-approved six-hour adult driver’s ed course.
In Maryland, new drivers of all ages must take 30 hours of driver’s ed lessons and six hours of behind-the-wheel training with a professional instructor.
New Mexico requires new drivers ages 18 through 24 to complete the None For The Road DWI awareness course.
All new drivers in New York must take a five-hour pre-licensing course prior to scheduling their license road test.
To obtain a Texas driver license, drivers ages 18 through 24 must complete the Impact Texas Drivers (ITD) course, which is available through the state’s Department of Public Safety (Texas DPS).
Driver’s ed for adults may not be required in all states. However, for first time drivers, the program may offer advantages outside of fulfilling state licensing requirements.
Online adult driver’s ed courses offered by our top providers range in price from $30 to $90. As with all driver’s ed courses, programs featuring official permit tests or a behind-the-wheel driving course may carry higher prices.
New adult drivers can expect to spend anywhere from four to 30 hours learning the rules of the road in driver’s education. Adult driver’s ed courses are typically shorter than traditional teen driver classes, averaging four to six hours.
Some states require behind-the-wheel driving lessons in addition to a traditional driver’s ed course. These requirements are typically four to six hours.
The providers below offer approved online driver’s education courses in select states. Each online driving school has been thoroughly vetted and ranked by our team as part of our research. You can find the research of our provider ranking here.
Aceable currently offers adult driver’s ed online courses to those who live in Illinois and Texas. Aceable’s wide selection of course offerings, great customer service, and affordable course prices earned them the number one spot on our list of top online driver’s ed providers. Read our full Aceable review to learn more.
Drivers Ed Direct, which ranks number four on our list of top providers, offers adult driver’s ed online courses in Illinois and Texas. The company boasts excellent customer reviews and a large service area. Find out more in our detailed Drivers Ed Direct review.
Illinois and Texas adult driver education courses are available online through Safe2Drive. Safe2Drive takes the number five spot on our list of best online course providers and boasts a large service area, 24/7 course access, and quality customer support. Visit the company online for more information.
iDriveSafely offers an online driver’s ed course for Texas adults ages 18 through 24. Coming in at number six on our list of best online providers, iDriveSafely has thousands of five-star ratings on Trustpilot from customers who like learning at their own pace, and offers a 100% money-back guarantee. Browse our iDriveSafely review for detailed information on course availability, provider history, and more.
Coastline Academy offers a six-hour driver’s ed course for adults in Texas, with courses covering everything from the basics of vehicle operation to advanced skills such as defensive driving. While not required for licensing, Coastline Academy also offers behind-the-wheel traffic school training with trained driving instructors. The company comes in at number nine on our list of top providers with an easy-to-navigate website and a high ratio of state approval for offered courses. Check out our Coastline Academy review to learn more.
We reviewed the industry’s top driver’s education programs, and here are our featured picks.

Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0
On Our Partner’s Website
Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0
On Our Partner’s Website
Our Rating: 3 out of 5.0
On Our Partner’s Website
If you’re ready to start your adult driver’s ed journey, brush up on your state’s driver’s ed requirements or check out our driver’s ed study guide to learn what to expect, find your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) manual, more.
Is adult driver’s ed expensive?
Driver’s ed for adults ranges in price from $30 to $90, with many courses $60 or more. These courses are designed to be affordable for working adults 18 and older.
Do I need adult driver’s ed in my state?
Currently, six states require some form of driver education. Learn your state’s driver’s ed requirements by reading our guide to driver’s ed requirements by state.
Do I need behind-the-wheel driver training as an adult?
New adult drivers in Illinois and Maryland must complete a minimum of six hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction. 
Do adults have to take drivers ed in Texas?
Yes, according to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), Texas law requires those aged 18 to 25 who wish to obtain a driver’s license to successfully complete a driver education course.
Image by David Prahl via Abobe Stock.
Enter your zip code to shop for the best rates in your area:
On Our Partner’s Website


Leave a Reply

Call Support:



Useful Links


Top Model Escorts. All rights reserved.